Home

Over the weekend I watched Frances Ha (I heard about it, I saw it, I loved it) and then followed it up with Problem Child 2. I decided to review Problem Child 2 because Frances Ha and the entire #Mumblecore movement, while excellent, is just not my territory. Soz about that.

Frances Ha

Frances Ha: a good movie

Problem Child 2

Problem Child 2: an important movie

There’s a recession. Nobody goes to the cinema as much as before because tickets cost around €10 now and, to be honest, they just don’t make films like they used to.

When I say ‘they just don’t make films like they used to’, I’m obviously referring to Problem Child 2, which is now streaming on The Netflix.

I genuinely loved Frances Ha but even if I’m feeling it, I can’t fully endorse such hip conversation about current hipness. If you want to talk about low budget film-making at it’s finest, my advice would be to go back to the source and watch some John Cassevetes and talk about that instead. You should watch Frances Ha though! It was rlly gud.

Anyone with a Kickstarter and a couple of cool friends can make a low budget movie these days. Cassavetes worked for people he hated, in a system he hated, on projects he hated, so he could finance his labours of love, which mostly turned out to be f**king masterpieces. Keep this in mind when I get into the art direction in Problem Child 2.

Netflix can cause nightly conundrums, prompting the user to regularly ask themselves “which movie will I watch tonight? Which of these polished turds is the most polished?” I’m here to help with that, but note: US Netlix content and UK/Ireland content is slightly different. I now use the UK/Ireland license.

So what about Problem Child 2? Well, unfortunately, Problem Child 1 (official title: Problem Child) is not available to stream on The Netflix ** but honestly I think this movie stands alone as a pretty self-explanatory piece of cinematic work. I don’t know why they even needed a prequel in the first place.

There’s sort of a recurring gag in Problem Child 2, where the production designer is repeatedly required to produce excessively large piles of steaming dog shite.

This is undoubtedly the highlight of the movie for me because you can almost sense the desperation of an artistic professional, behind the scenes, asking himself “What the fuck is my life? Am I going to be remembered as the guy who just basically made shit?”

There's a lot of shit in this movie

Production Designer for Problem Child 2 regularly asks himself “What is my life?”

Anyway, this obviously isn’t a real review because my advice is to just watch this movie for yourself. It’s as good as Frances Ha, but it’s probably more important than Frances Ha.

Basically, It’s just a movie. Frances Ha is just a movie. They’re all there to watch on The Netflix so just watch it.

Also Problem Child 2 can be viewed as a painful yet encouraging reminder, that everyone has to start somewhere shitty to get to somewhere of their own design.

**NOTE: At the time of writing, UK/Ireland Netflix offered Problem Child 2 to stream, but not Problem Child. As of March 2015, the inverse is actually true.

Leave a Reply

